NEFU: Northern Forum will pay special attention to the problems of transport infrastructure in the Arctic

13.06.2020
13.06.2020 Posts %s

Northern Sustainable Development Forum is scheduled in Yakutsk on September 27-30. The participants will discuss the opportunities for the development of infrastructure in the northern territories and the Arctic, TASS reports. ТАСС.

According to the Chair of the NEFU university-wide Northern Studies Department Mikhail Prisyazhny, the Forum will mostly focus on the north-east Arctic, where global changes occur, which require integrated interdisciplinary research involving the international expert community. According to the Organizing Committee, it should be taken into account that the major permafrost massif locates here, and all climate changes in the region impact the global warming.

The Forum has emerged from the idea that an international platform for addressing the issues of the north-east Arctic was needed, said Daryana Maximova, the Assistant Professor at the International Studies Department of the NEFU Institute of Modern Languages and Regional Studies. “The largest international platforms are in the West, and we don’t have one here in the East. That’s why the Forum will be held annually in Yakutia. The basic concept is to bring together Asia and Arctic. The Forum’s role in the development of the Arctic and the North is significant as we are creating a new platform for networking. The Forum can play a significant role in attracting attention to the activities of the international organization The Northern Forum, of which it is the priority project” – commented Daryana Maximova, the Acting Executive Director of the Northern Forum.

The Forum is expected to convene international experts from Canada, USA, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Denmark and Iceland, interested in the sustainable development of the Arctic and the North. The Northern Sustainable Development Forum will become one of the world’s leading platforms to discuss the challenges and prospects of sustainable development of the Arctic and the North. Special attention will be paid to the changing notion of the Northern Sea Route opportunities for the development of the world’s many countries, the organizers hope.

The NSDF has been held in Yakutia since 2019. It convened researchers, representatives of international organizations and diplomacy from 14 countries. The Forum is organized by the Government of the republic, the Northern Forum and the North-East Federal University.

Автор: Анна БАЙСАКОВА, пресс-служба Северо-Восточного федерального университета

Leave a Reply

СВФУ: Северный форум уделит особое внимание проблемам транспортной инфраструктуры в Арктике

13.06.2020
Опубликовано Новости
13.06.2020 NSDF

СВФУ: Северный форум уделит особое внимание проблемам транспортной инфраструктуры в Арктике

С 27 по 30 сентября в Якутске планируется провести Северный форум по устойчивому развитию. Участники обсудят возможности развития транспортной инфраструктуры северных территорий и Арктики, сообщает ТАСС.

Как рассказывает заведующий общеуниверситетской кафедрой североведения СВФУ Михаил Присяжный, в рамках форума основное внимание будет уделено северо-восточному сектору Арктики, где происходят глобальные изменения, требующие комплексных междисциплинарных исследований с участием международного экспертного сообщества. «Нужно учитывать, что основной массив многолетней мерзлоты находится именно здесь. Все изменения климата, происходящие в данном регионе, сказываются на глобальном потеплении», – говорит представитель оргкомитета.

Идея форума возникла, когда появилась мысль создать международную площадку, которая занималась бы проблемами Северо-Восточной части Арктики, отметила доцент кафедры международных исследований ИЗФиР СВФУ Дарьяна Максимова. «Самые большие международные площадки находятся на Западе, а на Востоке у нас такой нет. Поэтому форум будет проводиться ежегодно в Якутии. Основная концепция – объединить Азию и Арктику. Роль форума в развитии Севера и Арктики значима, поскольку мы создаем новую площадку для разнообразия контактов. Форум может сыграть значительную роль в привлечении внимания к деятельности международной организации «Северный форум», приоритетным проектом которой он является», – прокомментировала исполняющая обязанности исполнительного директора Северного форума Дарьяна Максимова.

Среди участников форума ожидаются имеющие интерес к вопросам устойчивого развития Севера и Арктики зарубежные эксперты из Канады, США, Финляндии, Норвегии, Швеции, Дании и Исландии. Северный форум по устойчивому развитию станет одной из ведущих мировых площадок для обсуждения проблем и перспектив устойчивого развития Севера и Арктики. Особое внимание предстоит уделить меняющемуся представлению о возможностях Северного морского пути для развития многих стран мира, надеются организаторы.

Северный форум проводится в Якутии с 2019 года. В нем участвовали ученые, представители международных организаций и дипломатических корпусов из 14 стран. Организаторами форума выступают правительство республики, международная неправительственная организация «Северный форум» и Северо-Восточный федеральный университет.

Автор: Анна БАЙСАКОВА, пресс-служба Северо-Восточного федерального университета

Добавить комментарий