Arctic Education Session Bridges North and Asia

16.10.2020
16.10.2020 Posts %s

Arctic Education Session Bridges North and Asia

On September 28, 2020, an educational session "Thematic Networks of the University of the Arctic: Interaction between the North and Asia" was held, organized by the Department of Northern Studies of NEFU and the International Arctic School within the framework of the International Northern Sustainable Development Forum. The moderators were the Director of the thematic networks of the University of the Arctic, PhD Kirsi Latola and the First Deputy Minister of Education and Science of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), Doctor of Geographical Sciences Mikhail Prysyazhny. Organizers: from the Department of Northern Studies - Viktoria Mikhailova and Lyubov Semenova; from "Congress Center Yakutia" - Ruslan Timofeev and Lia Tikhonova.

Thematic networks are interdisciplinary associations of scientists and specialists for joint research work, and the development of networked educational programs. Thematic networks form a natural basis for the development of education and research, providing them with the optimal structure for the accumulation and dissemination of knowledge throughout the North. Each network is international and includes representatives from the main Arctic regions - Russia, Northern Europe and North America. To date, more than 50 thematic networks have been created in various areas, for example, on permafrost, local and regional development in the North, Arctic Lingua, industrial development in the Arctic.

Mikhail Prisyazhny outlined the format of the educational session as one of the possibilities for understanding the North and the Arctic, for the involvement of all stakeholders in the activities of the University of the Arctic. He also provided information on the participation of the UArctic members working in the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) in the activities of thematic networks. So, for the period from 2005 to 2020, NEFU increased its active presence in thematic networks from 2 to 19. And in total, the members of the University of the Arctic are 9 organizations operating in the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia): higher educational institutions, scientific organizations of the Russian Academy of Sciences, college, institution of additional professional education.

Kirsi Latola spoke about the main focuses of UArctic - education, research, knowledge exchange. At the moment, more than 200 members of the Arctic and non-Arctic countries interact in more than fifty thematic networks.

The event was attended by the heads of the thematic networks "Arctic Lingua" (leader Antonina Vinokurova), "Image of the world of the indigenous peoples of the North" (leader Lyudmila Zamorshchikova), "Mining industry in the Arctic" (leader Florian Shtammler), "Traditional work skills of the Arctic "(Representative of the network, Director of the Arctic College of Peoples of the North from Cherskiy Elena Antipina)," Persistent organic pollutants and potentially hazardous chemicals in the Asian part of the Arctic "(leader Yifan Li). Vladlen Kugunurov, Head of the Department - Vice-Rector for International Cooperation of NEFU, spoke about the experience of scientific and educational partnership between NEFU and Hokkaido University. Other leaders of thematic networks also presented their materials: Eileen Espiritu (“The Arctic in Asia and Asia in the Arctic”), Keiji Yoshikawa (“Permafrost”), Barry Costa Piers (“Oceanic food systems”).

The leaders showed the goals, objectives, forms of work and interaction within the thematic networks. The meeting was held in two languages - Russian and English. In conclusion, proposals were made for the development of effective cooperation between the Arctic and non-Arctic countries.

Образовательная сессия Университета Арктики объединяет Север и Азию

16.10.2020
Опубликовано Новости
16.10.2020 NSDF

Образовательная сессия Университета Арктики объединяет Север и Азию

28 сентября 2020 г. состоялась образовательная сессия «Тематические сети Университета Арктики: взаимодействие Севера и Азии», организованная кафедрой североведения СВФУ и Международной Арктической школой в рамках Международного Северного форума по устойчивому развитию. Модераторами выступили директор тематических сетей Университета Арктики, PhD Кирси Латола и первый заместитель министра образования и науки Республики Саха (Якутия), д.геогр.н. Михаил Присяжный. Организаторы: от кафедры североведения  –  Михайлова Виктория и Семенова Любовь; от «Конгресс-Центра Якутия» – Руслан Тимофеев и Лия Тихонова.

Тематические сети представляют собой междисциплинарные объединения ученых и специалистов для совместной исследовательской работы, и разработки сетевых образовательных программ. Тематические сети образуют естественную основу для развития образования и научных исследований, обеспечивая их оптимальной структурой для накопления и распространения знаний по всему Северу. Каждая сеть является международной и включает в себя представителей из основных арктических регионов – России, Северной Европы и Северной Америки. На сегодняшний день создано более 50 тематических сетей по разным направлениям, например, по вечной мерзлоте, местному и региональному развитию на Севере, Arctic Lingua, промышленному освоению в Арктике.

Михаил Присяжный обозначил формат образовательной сессии как одну из возможностей понимания Севера и Арктики, вовлеченности всех заинтересованных лиц в деятельность Университета Арктики. Также представил информацию об участии членов Университета Арктики, работающих на территории Республики Саха (Якутия), в деятельности тематических сетей. Так, за период с 2005 по 2020 год СВФУ увеличил свое активное присутствие в тематических сетях с 2 до 19. А всего членами Университета Арктики являются 9 организаций, работающих в Республике Саха (Якутия): высшие учебные заведения, научные организации системы Российской академии наук, колледж, учреждение дополнительного профессионального образования.

Кирси Латола рассказала об основных фокусах Университета Арктики – образовании, исследовании, обмена знаниями. В настоящий момент взаимодействуют более 200 членов арктических и неарктических стран в более чем в пятидесяти тематических сетях.

В мероприятии приняли участие руководители тематических сетей «Arctic Lingua» (рук. Антонина Винокурова), «Образ мира коренных народов Севера» (рук. Людмила Заморщикова), «Добывающая промышленность в Арктике» (рук. Флориан Штаммлер), «Традиционные трудовые навыки Арктики» (представитель сети, Директор Арктического колледжа народов Севера из Черского Елена Антипина), «Стойкие органические загрязнители и потенциально опасные химические вещества в азиатской части Арктики» (рук. Ифань Ли). Об опыте научно-образовательного партнерства СВФУ и Университета Хоккайдо рассказал начальник управления – проректор по международному сотрудничеству СВФУ Владлен Кугунуров. Также представили свои материалы другие лидеры тематических сетей: Эйлин Эспириту («Арктика в Азии и Азия в Арктике»), Кейнджи Йошикава («Мерзлота»), Барри Коста-Пьерс («Океанические пищевые системы»).

Руководители показали цели, задачи, формы работы и взаимодействия в рамках тематических сетей. Встреча прошла на двух языках – русском и английском. В заключении были внесены предложения по развитию эффективного сотрудничества арктических и неарктических стран.